Retirement: Part 1

I find it hard to believe it is almost four weeks, since I preached my final service at First UMC, as I prepare to retire as a United Methodist pastor. I began my ministry on June 1, 1982 at the Alden United Methodist Church. I had no training, no seminary, no “license to preach school,” nothing other than being certified as a candidate and the blessing of my home church and the Wichita District Committee on Ordained Ministry.

What I had was my own deep sense of call and certainly the well wishes of those who knew me best. The congregation at Alden, as I have said many times, were saints. They took me in and loved me as I grew into being a pastor. I reflected on that congregation’s care and support in that last sermon I preached. You can find the entire service here. The sermon begins at 31: 15.

I am still in awe of the celebration that was held that final Sunday. I was able to speak to my deep gratitude to all the people I served in Alden; Burr Oak, Esbon and Odessa of the Jewell County Parish; Plainville; Douglass and Rock; Lyons First; West Heights and First in Wichita. What a privilege it has been to be invited into the most intimate moments of people’s lives and to be the presence of Christ.

God knows, I have made so many mistakes. I missed opportunities to minister, was short sighted, or was flawed in so many ways in my pastoring. I am hopeful for forgiveness for all those times I missed the mark.

On that last Sunday I was surprised with a scholarship created in my name for women attending seminary who are pursuing ordination as an elder in the United Methodist Church. I have been so blessed to be a pastor in the UMC. I am so touched to be honored in this way and to continue supporting women to pursue full time ministry in the church.

I am not “officially” retired until June 30. Although I am on vacation, in the days following that service, I presided over the memorial service of a dear friend that had grown up with me at First, was honored by my family with a party, had two online Great Plains UMC conference meetings as well as annual conference in person at LaVista, Nebraska. I also had my office to finish cleaning out in preparation for the new senior pastor.

I will have more reflections over the coming weeks. I am just now slowing down enough to ponder what comes next and what this means. I am so deeply grateful for all the moments I have had to be in ministry with so many.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment