Sunday musings

Yesterday I preached on John 4: 4-42. This encounter between Jesus and a Samaritan woman has been preached hundreds of times by hundreds of different preachers. I could probably preach on it several Sundays in a row and not scratch the surface of this amazing encounter.

Casting Crowns produced a song several years ago that has become one of my favorites, “Jesus, Friend of Sinners.” There are so many phrases in the song that catch me, deeply in my heart and spirit. “the world is on their way to you, but they are tripping over me, always looking around but never looking up I’m so double minded.”

My youth director and his spouse Caleb and Mandy Fouse sang it in worship It comes in at 36:10 in the worship video from yesterday’s service First United Methodist Church  My sermon comes a little bit after that.

In this text I find it compelling how much I add to what is not there and do not take away what is life changing. I want live authentically and deeply, allowing God to change my heart and change my ways. In the middle of Lent, it is a good reminder for me.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sunday musings

  1. Dave

    It is an awesome passage. In John, the first person that Jesus tells that he is the Christ is a Samaritan, a woman, and an outcast, the social, cultural and religious order is being upset. I love this guy!

Leave a Reply

