Father’s Day revisited

I reblog this in honor and memory of my grandfather, my stepfather and all those fathers who share who they are with others.

revcindylee

Six  years ago, I wrote a blog post on the importance of fathers.  I reblogged it three years ago, because it explains my deepest beliefs about fathers and their children.  I continue to be grateful to all those men who fathered and mentored me. I share it again in honor and memory of my grandfather “Big Bob”

11536099_10153171485939039_743427572446101990_n

and my stepfather “Pep”

11061319_10153171485929039_7701677422686554430_n

Fathers and those who Mentor  (reprint from June, 2009)

Father’s Day has never been an easy day for me. I have very few memories of my father. In fact, I am hard pressed to remember anything other than absence. Oh, I have some vague shadowy sorts of memories, but I don’t even remember what he looks like unless I look for a picture, of which there are very few.

My mother and father were divorced in the mid-sixties. Long before single parent households were normative. My grandparents drove to…

View original post 508 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

