Visual gifts

This last week I have ended up with two new bracelets.  Both gifts, one from my husband and one from a little girl in the congregation.  I actually love bracelets, I don’t them clanging and bashing into my laptop when I am working, but I like seeing them on my wrist.  Most of my bracelets mean something.

I have an Italian charm bracelet with charms given to me by my sister and my husband.  I have an old fashioned charm bracelet, the first charm, a handbell given to me by my handbell director and also a star with 18in the center of it.  It was sent to me in Switzerland as a birthday gift for my eighteenth birthday.  I collected charms all over Europe and in the United States. I have a very special bracelet given to me by my mother, with an identical one give to my twin sister.  I wear it often and think of my mom and my sister.

Image

The little girl at West Heights had been making bracelets.  This one was woven with sparkly rubber bands in rainbow colors.  It looks like this:

Image

Isn’t is fabulous?  Each rubber band it’s own unique circle, intertwined with other rubber bands to make this beautiful circle of color.  I am delighted to wear this gift and see the sparkles and all the pastel colors of the rainbow.

The second bracelet was purchased at the Watoto Children’s Choir concert held here at the church I serve last Friday evening.    Many of the items to be purchased were made by in their Sustaining Hope ministry.  They provide a place for women who are HIV+  along with medical care, basic necessities and a generating income through a variety of income generating projects.  I have a necklace to match.

Image

 

Each of these bracelets represent community, relationship and love.  All three were gifts from someone I love.  Two were handmade, one with the joy of a child and the other with the hope that comes from being rescued out of horrific circumstances and given new life and possibilities.

These visual gifts of grace and love remind me how good life is.  I am so grateful, for family, for friends and for the ability to help others through my donations and purchases I can make to help others.  For me, it is easy to sleepwalk through the day, not paying enough attention to all the visual gifts available.  I need the reminder that love is a blessing, that hope is empowering and that family, friends and community make faith real and life a blessing.

I am graced to serve.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Visual gifts

  1. Shannon

    Please tell me where I can find the first bracelet. I am looking for something special for my twin sister and that bracelet is just what I am looking for! Thank you!!!!

    • I do not know where my mother ordered them from other than a catalog. I have seen pins with those figures in the “skymall” magazine on the airplane. You might try that to start with. I am sorry I don’t have more information.

Leave a Reply

